top of page

Move with Mae


You are interested in how Mae stays active and healthy despite the many activities she does daily? You have a busy life yourself? Then you might find some inspiration in Mae´s sport tips:

@MaeHolland: Good morning guys, if you are already awake! It´s seven in the morning, but I just had a wonderful trip to the coast where I rented a kayak for one hour (didn´t steal it) and paddled over the beautiful, calm sea. Watching the sunrise from this perspective was absolutely amazing. If you didn´t experience it through my feed, I am going to share a few photos with you. I hope you like them as much as I do. I even saw the baby seal again which crossed my boat one week ago!

I have to add that kayaking is the activity I love the most. I find it much more relaxing than Yoga or something like that, maybe more relaxing than one full night of sleeping. It´s just so calming that all your problems seem so far away, when you are looking at the blue water and feeling the wet wind on your skin. Yes, also the cold appears enjoyably fresh. And it is - although many people claim that - not a bit boring. I definitely advise you to give it a try! (But be prepared: It´s more exhausting than you might expect!) See you soon at CE.

@MaeHolland: You probably listened to Dr. Villalobos who told me that I don´t do enough steps per day. My average was about 5000. Since kayaking doesn´t count as steps, I decided to start running.

After a few runs, I feel ready to give you some tips which will hopefully make the first jogs a lot easier for you:

1.) Choose a beautiful route. If you don´t like your environment and have to torture yourself through it, then this is not right. Sport should be fun and if you run along a loud street with cars and busses and where is not enough space, then it is everything else, but definitely not fun. I recommend you a nice lake or forest. A park will be good, too. My favourite place to jog is, of course, the Circle campus :)

2.) Listen to good music. There´s no good run without powerful motivation! But be careful with what you choose, it will influence your pace dramatically. Don´t select songs which are too fast either. Here you can find a playlist I created for you: https://soundcloud.com/mae-holland/sets/ce-playlist-open

3.) Look for a jogging partner! You can talk (but not too much) or just be silent, but it is much more motivating! And you will run more often, I promise. I sometimes ask Annie to join me, or last time it was Francis. It doesn´t matter how fast the other person is, the main thing is: Fun!

4.) Reward yourself. Don´t be too strict with yourself if you gave up or didn´t achieve your set goal. Just relax a bit after your run or if you don´t have time to do this, you can prepare a few of my Sweet Potato Brownies and enjoy them afterwards! (And as you may have guessed, they are healthy, too ;))

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page